Within digital marketing, the terminology used across the paid Ad space can become very confusing very quickly. Conversations with PPC specialists can sometimes make you wonder if they’re speaking a completely different language. So, to help you understand all the jargon, so we’re all on the same page, we have collated a glossary of terms, so you’re never left confused by your stats again.
PPC – Pay per Click – Paying to advertise online, usually paying a fee every time someone clicks on your Ad
Ad Groups – An Ad group is the level after the campaign to further split up what it is you want to target. For example, your campaign could be ‘Orthodontics’, and your ad group could be the different types of treatments you offer.
Ad Relevance – Google defines relevance as the degree to which a specific ad aligns with a user’s search query. To determine this relevance, Google examines the connection between keywords, ad content, and the landing page. The possible statuses Google assigns are: above average, average, and below average.
Ad Schedule – You can schedule your ads to run on specific days of the week and even choose the exact times of day they appear. Ad scheduling is ideal for businesses aiming to target their campaigns during specific periods, enabling you to allocate your budget when conversions are most likely to occur.
Avg CPC – The average cost-per-click (CPC) is calculated by dividing the total amount you’ve paid for your ad by the number of clicks it has received. For example, if your ad gets two clicks, one costing £0.20 and the other £0.40, your average CPC for those clicks would be £0.30.
Exact Match – A keyword setting that allows your ad to only show when someone searches for your keyword or very close variants of your keyword.
Clicks – The number of clicks your ads receive.
Conversion – A conversion is when a goal is completed. For example, for an e-commerce site, a conversion would be buying a product. For a service site, a conversion could be filling in a contact form.
Conversion Rate – This is the average number of conversions per ad interaction, this metric is shown as a percentage.
Cost per Conversion – This is calculated by the total cost to run your Ad divided by the number of conversions over that period of time. For example, if you spent £1000 on your Ad and achieved 100 conversions, each conversion cost you £10.
Call Extensions – Using a call extension lets mobile users call your business directly in just one click.
CPC – Also known as Cost per Click, this refers to the amount you will pay for every click you receive on your ads.
CTR – Stands for click-through rate. This is a ratio that indicates how often people who see your ad click on it. For example, if your ad receives 100 impressions and 10 clicks, the CTR would be 10%.
Impressions – How often your ad appears.
Keywords – Words or phrases describing your product or service that you choose to help influence when and where your ad can appear.
Landing Page – The first page a user is sent to after clicking on your ad.
Search Ads – These ads appear on the search engine results page (SERP) alongside organic search results and on Google partner sites, such as YouTube, when a user searches for a business similar to yours.
User Intent – Consider the intent behind a query when creating your ads to ensure that your business appears in relevant searches.
Here at Dental Design, we pride ourselves on our PPC capabilities, helping our clients promote their services and achieving incredible return on investments. For more information about our Marketing/PPC services, and how we could help your business, contact us today.